Hi I'm New & New To Fishkeeping Video Attached

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Andytropicalfish

Reaction score
Hi I am new to FishForums and new to Fishkeeping, I have had a tropical aquarium given to me by a family friend who can no longer keep the aquarium, I have bought all the necessary equipment including testing kits, a new Thermometer and I will take a sample to my local pet shop tomorrow who will do a more in-depth check for me. As the Aquarium was given to me I am not sure what all the fish species are that are already in the tank but they seem to get along. I have identified some Neon Tetra and 2 Clown Loach from books but I cannot identify the others please comment if you can Identify them. Also all advice and tips are welcome as I wish to create a happy, healthy environment for my fish. The filter seems to be working, the temperature is 24c according to my new thermometer and the pump and light works fine. The fish are lively and spend most of their time swimming mid to low range so I think the Oxygen is adequate. I was unable to perform a 2 week cycle before placing my fish in the tank as the aquarium was given to me with fish already in there but I did put new water and filter pads in the tank and I treated the water before putting the fish back into the tank aswell as getting the temperature back to 24c, the fish were in a bucket whilst i did this as I had nowhere else to put them so I was eager to get them back in the tank. I am currently turning the light on for a couple of hours during the day when the sun is out naturally and turning off when it starts to go dark, I also leave the curtains open so that some natural light and light changes occur but the tank isn't in direct sunlight as not to create excess algae let me know if this is the right thing to do. thanks :)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/tnMo7n4zNwM" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>