Help with my cycle

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

tom731

Reaction score
Hi, I am completely new to this hobby so sorry if I've made some mistakes!

I recently purchased a 70L (19 gallon) tank and set it up with some live plants in it. On the advice of my local fish shop I then added 6 cardinal tetras after 4 days, after doing my own research I realise that this was a mistake as I was unaware that a fishless cycle was a thing.

Since then everything seems fine and I am beginning to cycle the tank using a mix of my own research and what the fish shop recommended however I am getting confused about the readings. It has been 3 days since I added fish, and a week since getting the tank.

Ammonia was 0.5 ppm yesterday but has gone down to 0.25 ppm today
Nitrite was 0.3 ppm yesterday but has gone up to 0.8 ppm today
Nitrate was between 40-80 ppm both yesterday and today

This seems weird to me as its only been 3 day, surely I shouldn't be seeing any nitrite and nitrate yet? I did a 15% water change yesterday, do these readings mean that I should do one today as well?

Thanks for the help!

It does appear to be fast - did you add a bacterial starter, or mature media?

As long as you do water changes to keep both ammonia and nitrite as near to zero as possible, that's fine. When they stay at zero by themselves you can think of more fish but only a few at a time so you don't overwhelm the bacteria.

Can you check your tap water nitrate, please. 40 to 80 ppm is very high - it should be kept below 20 ppm. But UK legislation allows 50 ppm in drinking water so the level in your tank could be from your tap water.
While you are testing tap water for nitrate, you may as well also test it for ammonia and nitrite. It is always good to know what you put in the tank from the tap as well as what is being made by the occupants of the tank.