Help... The Light In My Aquarium Hood Fried My Fish!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

JodeeGust

Reaction score
Ok, I'm relatively new to this, so I pretty much have no clue what I'm doing. I have 2 Guppies (1 Tequila Sunrise and 1 Turquoise, both male) I put them in a 2 gallon tank with a lighted hood. I figured that the light would warm the water, so I decided not to buy a heater. Does anyone know what I can do to prevent them from frying?

I've tried increasing the amount of space between the bulb and the water line, but I have another idea that I haven't tried yet. My tank has a plastic lid that goes under the bulb and it appears to restrict ariflow to the bulb. I'm thinking of removing it so the bulb can get some air and cool itself. Does anyone think that will work?

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks in advance!

you say you've no clue what you're doing, so i don't mean to sound patrnising but i'll start from basics here.

what maks you think the hood is frying the fish? have you got a thermometer in the tank to measure the temp, what is the temp reading at? remember that while the light will heat the water it's not a steady constant heat, when the light is off at night (it should be on around 7 hrs a day) the water is gonna cool down. so instead of a steady temp, you'rs will be fluctuating. for fish, in nearly all cases, they don't like change. much better for levels and temp to be stable, so instead of it being the temp that fried them, possibly the fluctuating temp will cause problems.

however that being said, i doubt very much that the light is the problem here, does the tank have a filter? What did you do to set it up before adding fish, just fill it with water and get some fish that day?

do you have a water test kit, there's various chemical levels in the water which affect the fish, you need to be able to measure these to keep them corect.