Help me read the water results

šŸ  May TOTM Voting is Live! šŸ 
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
šŸ† Click here to Vote! šŸ†

bibibi

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to the hobby, and was testing my water but I am unsure how to read the results. Can you help me?
I have 20 Gallon fishtank, 3 guppies and 2 plants inside, side filter and a heater, (however my water is on 80F due to warm weather and the heater never goes on). The fish tank is 2 weeks old. Fish is inside for 10 days. (I did not know I need to "cycle", so please do not scold me). Right now I have no other option but to make my fish as healthy as possible.

I have been adding Seachem Stability since day one. On the instruction, it says the first water change should be at the end of the month.
It is the first time I tested the water today. (I read here what test to buy)
I think all came in as 0s or maybe I am wrong? can you please review the photos? And especially the Ammonia reading?
Also, my PH is very high (I think?)

My fish are very happy and active, and very hungry (I feed 1-2 times a day because I am scared the water will get bad)

Attachments

• amonia.jpg
    amonia.jpg
    164.9 KB · Views: 36
  • nitrite.jpg
    nitrite.jpg
    176.5 KB · Views: 33
  • nitrate.jpg
    nitrate.jpg
    141.3 KB · Views: 32
  • ph_high.jpg
    ph_high.jpg
    181.1 KB · Views: 36
Everything looks safe to my eyes , ph seems a little high but not dangerous, with 2 guppyā€™s the bio load is small and the live plants ā€œshould ā€œ soak up nh3 no3 , but 10 days is still a very fresh tank Iā€™d be testing every 2-3 days just to make sure but Iv only ever used a fish in cycle itā€™s fast and effective if your prepared to put the time into doing it , Iā€™d cut back feeding a little to once a day or every two days for a few weeks just to give yourself a better chance

Thank you! I will reduce the feeding. Should I still do water changes? or wait for one of the parameters to go over 0?