Help! Bought New Tiger Barbs, But All Died!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

rickydg

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm quite new to tropical fish, about 3 months now. Have bought 4 tgier barbs today, 2 green and 2 albino. Put them in my 38 litre tank with 2 other existing tiger barbs and a golden loach. Within 5 minutes of lowering the sealed bag in to the tank the existing fish started going to the surface like they were trying to get air. Left the bag for 15 mins in the water sealed. Then opened bag and let fish swim out. Almost immediately (2-3 mins) the new fish started to die. After 10 mins all new fis were dead, and my existing fish are still at the surface.

Request Help

Tank size: 38L
pH: 6.5
ammonia: Do not know - ammolock was added last night.
nitrite: 1
nitrate: 40
kH: 120
gH: 60
tank temp: 28-30

Fish Symptoms (include full description including lesion, color, location, fish behavior): As above

Volume and Frequency of water changes: 38l, was changed last night approx 1/4

Chemical Additives or Media in your tank: Aquarium Salts, Stress Zyme, Stres Coat & Ammo Lock

Tank inhabitants: Asabove

Recent additions to your tank (living or decoration): As above

Exposure to chemicals: None

Thanks.

That nitrite level is bad - nitrite and ammonia should be zero, or 0.25 at the most. This is almost certainly what killed your new fish, sorry. :(

Do you have an ammonia tester - looking at what readings you've taken, I'm guessing you're using test strips, is that correct?

Have you been testing the water since you started the tank? And did you cycle the tank when you first set it up? (if you're not sure about cycling, read the pinned topics at the top of the 'new to the hobby' section of the board). Also, have you been testing the tank before? Any idea on what the readings have been?