Have I been misinformed about filters?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

cupofjoel

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
After being a member on this forum for several months I have learned so much. But before becoming a member I was taught to have as much bio-media in my canister filters as it can hold. Currently I have a biomaster 600 which allows me to have around 1-2 pounds of seachem matrix with two trays worth of sponge and 6 smaller prefilter sponges on the prefilter feature of the canister filter. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DFMWTSW/?tag=ff0d01-20

But, now that I'm a bit more educated I was thinking that maybe all I need the filter for is to FILTER the water from floating waste...to act as a trash can that I empty and rely on floating plants and the beneficial bacteria that lives on my gravel, wood, rocks, and everything else in the tank for my biological filtration. Thoughts?

On a side note I have tons of deteritus that has settled in certain parts of my tank ever since I took out my wavemaker as to not disturb my floating plants. I feel that all that deteritus on the top of my gravel can't be good in the long run for algae issues. I do gravel vacuum, but can get lazy and some places are hard to reach. Thoughts? Should I put my wavemaker back and risk getting water on top of my floating plants and see them struggle/rot?

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
But, now that I'm a bit more educated I was thinking that maybe all I need the filter for is to FILTER the water from floating waste...to act as a trash can that I empty and rely on floating plants and the beneficial bacteria that lives on my gravel, wood, rocks, and everything else in the tank for my biological filtration. Thoughts?