Growing aquarium plants outside

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Danlacey1988

Reaction score
Hi
Just wondering if anyone has had much success growing aquarium plants out side
Currently growing some in a green house in tubs of water
Just wanted to see if anyone had any good advice ? As it's my first time doing it
As I grow all my plants in my aquarium

Attachments

• 20210408_184201.jpg
    20210408_184201.jpg
    381.6 KB · Views: 101
I would say it’s ok as long as they get plenty of sun and the tubs had a heater. (Or if the weather is always warm and sunny where you live)

Are you dosing any fertilizers?

That set up is pretty cool. ?

That type of greenhouse won't keep the plants very warm, and isn't practical for a greenhouse heater. At the moment with the cold north east winds and snow they will be getting very cold especially at night, which won't do tropical plants much good. I'm assuming you have the same weather in Bristol as we are having in the north east :)

But they should be OK during the summer months.

short answer: put them outside at summer or whenever you DONT need a heater, let them grow and take care of them as @Essjay says, and only move it back when heater is not used

I would say it’s ok as long as they get plenty of sun and the tubs had a heater. (Or if the weather is always warm and sunny where you live)

Are you dosing any fertilizers?

That set up is pretty cool. ?
Yeah I add fertiliser change the Warter same time as I change my fish tanks and refill them with rain water trying to try the natural approach bit still adding ferts I guess

That type of greenhouse won't keep the plants very warm, and isn't practical for a greenhouse heater. At the moment with the cold north east winds and snow they will be getting very cold especially at night, which won't do tropical plants much good. I'm assuming you have the same weather in Bristol as we are having in the north east :)