Gourami Sick?

willquinn

Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to tropical fishkeeping. I setup a new 80litre tank on Sunday 29 March. I let it sit for a few days, added good bacteria treatment for quick start, waited a day as per the instructions and introduced 5 neon tetras and a siamese fighter on the Thursday. All water was treated with Tetra Aquasafe before being added to tank.

I bought 2 dwarf gourami's (at least that's what I think they are) in the lfs on saturday along with a few ornaments and plastic plants. I put in the plants and ornaments which stirred up the substrate an awful lot. (the substrate is sand with gravel on top). The water remained cloudy for a day or so, even now (Tuesday) it is cloudy to a certain extent but nowhere near as bad as it was.

Water parameters are well within safe limits. I used Ammonia liquid testing kits and tetra 6in1 strips for everything else.:
Ammonia = 0
Nitrite = 0mg/l
nitrate = 10mg/l
General hardness = 16[sup]o[/sup]d
KH (hardness) = 3[sup]o[/sup]d
PH= 7.0
Chlorine = 0

I have noticed that my orange gourami has black spots/markings around his head and back around his dorsal fin, in the pictures they look almost like veins. See pics:

gouramispot.jpg

spotgourami2.jpg

Is this anything to worry about? He has been eating, although not very much, I noticed the betta pecking at back and side of this gourami like he was eating something from him, it didn't seem like he was being aggressive, the gourami didn't make any effort to move when the betta did this. I've also noticed that he doesn't swim about as much as he used to do when I first got him. He has also taken to sitting on the gravel for short periods and then swimming about slowly again.