German Blue Ram Eggs?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Brahmza

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
So, in my 55g tank I have 3 pairs of German rams. Two pairs of German blues and one pair of electric blues. My most dominant pair seems to have laid eggs today. They've been paired for about two weeks, and its my first time keeping rams. Curious about what kinds of food can be fed. Would liquifry work? Just want to be prepared if they make it to free swimming. Any tips to make it successful? My other pair of German blues are getting ready to spawn, too, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

For the first 2-3 days after they start moving around they won't need any food because they live off of their yolk sacks.  You don't need to feed them until they are FREE SWIMMING - not scooting around on the bottom, not flying through the water by way of the current, not hopping around...no kidding FREE SWIMMING.  They'll start to be able to swim freely about a week or more after they hatch.

Here is what I have personally found about feeding them:

I've never bought or tried liquifry but I have made my own from egg yolks and it really mucks up the water.
I've tried Hikari First Bites and while it works fine for other fish, I still think it is too big for Ram fry, so...

I feed them two foods - baby brine shrimp that I hatch myself and always have on hand and I also make my own fry powder from a myriad of dry fish foods by running them all through a coffee grinder.

One challenge you'll have is to get the food in the water near the fry in such a large tank.  Easily done with baby brine but you might need to mix any sort of powdered food with water and use a turkey baster.

Do you still have any fry or were they eaten?