General Fish questions

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

ItchRinse

Reaction score
hi. i'm new to this fish stuff (apart from random ownership of goldfish in the past). Next week i'll be getting some Lyretail Mollies, and i've done some research, so i know they're livebearers and may eat the fry, 1" of fish per gallon, 2:1 male - female ratio (or 3:1, i've heard), and all that stuff. many sites say that you should have live plants for them to nibble on. i basically know nothing about live plants, however, so i'm hoping i might be able to learn more about 'em here. does it matter what kind/species of plants i get? and apparently ur s'posed to have like 5 cm of gravel so that they can take root, but i Definitely don't have that much down. (gravel filter, if ne1's wondering). also if i'm doing the vaccuuming/siphoning or whatever, won't the roots be vaccuumed up or whatever? o_O and how many plants should i get...? Also, i don't really want fry (not enough room), so any tips on having my (future) fish Not breed? (for the time being, anyway.) Some hints as to how to sex the fish would be good, too, b/c i'm not sure if the sales ppl @ the store know how to do that. i posted more about my tank in the Newbie section, so check there. FYI its 20 gallon, w/ a florescent lite (Aqua-Glo). ummm yeah i think thats it for the time being, sorry for making this post so long! oh. and what kind of food should i get? floating pellets? flake? o_O thx!

Someone will say it soon but I got here first! Make sure you cycle your tank, check the signatures of various posters (Alien Anna or smb). If you don't cycle the tank your mollies WILL die.