Gardneri Eggs Storage

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

muay

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi, Im quite new to killi fish but im getting very interested. I have a pair of Gardneri's for almost 2 weeks and i have been collecting 2-3 eggs per day and storing them in peat, Today i looked at a couple of the eggs and they looked to have kind almost dryed up even though the peat is moist but not wet. Ive also collected about 10-12 eggs today which is the most ive collected. Am i doing everything right as regards to storing the eggs ?

Also i have 2 Notho Guentiheri fry that are about 2 weeks old, ive been topping the water up in their small trys everyday and they look to have grown a little. When should i move them to a bigger tray ? Is there anything else i should do ?

Thanks in advance. :good:

There are two threads of mine you should read
http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?showtopic=280786
Gives you an overview of the GAR sp and spp. husbandry including breeding and rearing. Storage over peat is not really necessary and water incubation will be fine. We use peat storage for non annuals to slightly prolong the hatching date and to prevent the spread of fungus.
This second thread is related to your GUE, which are annuals.
http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?/topic/341640-nothobranchius-rachovii-beira-98/
RAC is a lot more delicate species but all the basis of fry rearing are exactly the same.
I hope that helps
Regards
C

Many thanks for the info Big C. Before knowing ive been storing the eggs in peat should i take them out and put them in water,would i need to add methylene blue ? Also what at what age would you recommend transfering them to a bigger tray ? many thanks in advance :good: