frogs

sharktale

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi, I am setting up a small 2ft aquarium for my son to have in his bedroom. He wants to have a frog but I have no experience with keeping them. He has a male betta and will have some tetras and platys and a golden bristlie. Are they easy to keep?
Thanks

Hi sharktale :)

African Dwarf Frogs are great little pets, but IMHO are better kept by themselves or with only a betta. They are shy little things that often have trouble competing with the fish for food.

I feed mine live blackworms or tubifex worms, and "Frog Bites." which is a tiny sinking pellet which will fall to the bottom where they can find it. The problem is that other fish are likely to find it first.

If you keep them, please be sure that there are no open areas at the top of the tank where they could jump out. For their size, they are surprisingly strong jumpers and can fit through very small openings.

Here's a link with much good information about them and their larger relatives the African Clawed Frogs:

http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?showtopic=18252

I accaidently bought a clawed frog, and he has not eaten any of my fish. :kana: He mostly stays under my rock. And cannot survive out of the water, so I don't have to worry about him escaping. My fish are rosy reds and shrimp. I feed him reptile pellets which are too big for the fish too eat. So I don't have to worry about him not getting his food. But I could have just gotten a good tempered frog. :wub: Best of luck on what you decide. ;)

I suspect that just because the frog cannot survive out of water doesn't mean that he won't try. After all he doesn't know that there isn't any water outside!

Also how does he do on reptile food (him not being a reptile). I'm thinking of getting a frog or two, depending on which kind I can house, and it would be good to know.

I have read on this forum that clawed frogs start of docile but when they reach a certain size they start killing fish, so take care!