AquaBarb

Aqua}^>holic
🏆 Tank of the Year 🏆
3x Fish of the Month 🌟
4x Tank of the Month 🏆
Reaction score
Hi,

Some advise please.

Struggling to keep floating plants alive. Tried water lettuce, frogbit and salvinia and also stem plants such as water sprite and hygrophilia difformis.

Both my tanks have hoods, i use small amounts of liquid ferts the day after big water changes (75%weekly). My stem plants in substrate all grow really well so im coming to the conclusion that maybe my lights arent good enough.

I have a fluval roma 200 so my lights are the fluorescent tubes.

Total novice with lights so is there a certain brand anyone could recommend which i could look up. Ive heard T5/T8's on this forum alot which i think are tubes.
Are this any good? Or is it worth converting to LED's?

Many thanks

Water Lettuce, Frog bit and Salvinia can rot if kept under coverglass, but Water Sprite and Hygrophilas are normally fine under covers.

How long are the tank lights on for?
If the substrate plants are growing well, then there is sufficient light for floating plants.

Are you getting any algae growing on the glass or ornaments?
If there is no algae growing in the tank you could increase the lighting time by an hour per day and monitor it over a couple of weeks. If there's still no algae then increase the lighting time again. Continue increasing the lighting times until you get a small amount of green algae on the glass and that is usually sufficient for the tank. You can reduce it a little bit if you get lots of algae.

What is the pH of the water?
Some plants do better in neutral or alkaline water (pH above 7.0). If the plants come from acid water and are put into alkaline water (or vice versa), they might fall apart in your tank. Check with the supplier and find out what the pH is at the plant grower or shop tanks.