Eheim Vs Fluval Canisters

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Atsy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I am looking at a new filter for my 50 US Gal tank (48" x 12" x 20").  I have sand substrate and will have some planted plants.  I plan on mainly stocking with 2-3" fish that like to school like cherry barbs, tiger barbs, zebra danios, tetras, etc.

I have no idea where to start but the forum seems to favor heavily in favor of Eheim and Fluval canister filters.  So for a tank my size, I was thinking of a Fluval 306 (up to 70 gal) or an Eheim Classic 2217 (up to 92 gal).  I would appreciate some feedback since I am a total beginner for canisters/filters!

I don't think the forum favors any of those. Overall the filter make is entirely up to you, if you were in the uk I would have suggested aqua manta but since not over filtering the tank is not a bad thing bit you want a filter with a decent gph or lph

i have nothing wrong with anything of those filters, other than the eheim ones are a bit pricy, cant justify a reason to get one with that price, but i have a tetra tec 1200 and its an amazing filter :) but dated now but it dose the job. again yes over filtering is always better i guess, i would recommend going for the highest rated filter you can afford tbh, but like techen say's i will be getting an aqua manta which is a UK branded filter made by our chain of LFS which is surprising cheap and good tbh

have a look around, what you want is high LPH/GPH and a nice volume canister for the media, don't worry about what media is in it yet, as that can always be changed :D and you do not need to buy the expensive refills the main company's say you haft to do, unless its carbon :D