Dwarf Gouramis

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

This Old Spouse

TOTM Winner May 2013
Reaction score
Hi all,

Do you think, now that my tank is 8 months old (fully cycled), that I could successfully get some dwarf gouramis? Does anyone know about the weird disease and whether going into an established tank would possibly up the chances that they'd NOT get the disease?

I really love these fish, but I don't want to go through what I did when I first got my tank, losing half a dozen of them.
shout.gif

I'm only new to fishkeeping and have just addeed a pair of dwarf gourami's to my 180l community tank and they seem to be doing fine. I think as long as they look healthy in the shop and you quarantine them if you can before putting them in then they're brilliant little fish :)

But as i said.... i'm very new, this is just from research i've done before getting mine.

Also can i ask... what symptoms did your dwarf gourami show? (just so i know what to look out for) i've read open sores, lethargy and not eating are the signs of "dwarf gourami disease"?

Dwarf gourami disease can take a long time to manifest. I'm kind of looking for folks who have had long-term success. Hope yours do well!

I'm only new to fishkeeping and have just addeed a pair of dwarf gourami's to my 180l community tank and they seem to be doing fine. I think as long as they look healthy in the shop and you quarantine them if you can before putting them in then they're brilliant little fish :)

But as i said.... i'm very new, this is just from research i've done before getting mine.

Also can i ask... what symptoms did your dwarf gourami show? (just so i know what to look out for) i've read open sores, lethargy and not eating are the signs of "dwarf gourami disease"?