What's new

Do I Need A Nutrient Substrate / Ferts?

nry

Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2006
Messages
1,523
Reaction score
0
My guess is you can bolt an additional tube in their somewhere - I'd be surprised if no-one on this forum has already done that before.

I have a Juwel Rekord 60 - I now have two 18" tubes in but I ripped out all of the internal lighting etc etc to do this.
 
OP
Luketendo

Luketendo

BLENNY :O
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
1,768
Reaction score
0
Location
West Sussex, England.
I'll go take a look, going to be costly -.-There's no room at all.I'll go take a look, going to be costly -.-
 

garuf

Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
884
Reaction score
0
I'm pretty much stuffed then.
Now that I doubt. take a picture of the hood and post it up I'm certain a member will be able to help, and if your worried about spiralling costs don't forget DIY options.
 

SuperColey1

Planted Section
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
4,952
Reaction score
29
Location
Lincoln, UK
This is the 125Ltr tank when I first bought it and it now has 2.5WPG. Recognise it?


Here is a pic after the upgrade


And a daylight version so you can see for sure.


Admittedly it is the Duo version. Fluval Duo Deep 800.

Can you take a picture of the inside of the hood?

I personally think that you should be able to rip the light and fitting you currently have out and screw in a power compact in its place. maybe 2 lights if you remove the ballast recess that the current lights use.

Andy
 
OP
Luketendo

Luketendo

BLENNY :O
Joined
Aug 29, 2007
Messages
1,768
Reaction score
0
Location
West Sussex, England.
I can't do it because the hood is different from the Duo Versions, I saw some in the shops the other day and the hood is a lot more spacious than my one.
 

garuf

Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
884
Reaction score
0
are you sure? chopping out what ever's in there already and replacing it with a power compact shouldn't be that difficult. why not make yourself a hood if you can't make more light fit?
 

garuf

Member
Joined
Jul 10, 2007
Messages
884
Reaction score
0
Because I'm 14 years old and not very good at DIY.
get your dad to help? why don't you make it at school after hours I made a model railway while I was at school and they're so much more difficult plus you'll have extra help.
 

SuperColey1

Planted Section
Joined
Oct 30, 2006
Messages
4,952
Reaction score
29
Location
Lincoln, UK
This is the inside of your hood at present.


Its not really DIY.

You cut out most of the ballast recess leaveing the upper bit where the panel on top clips into.
Then you screw 2 power compacts into the firstly the part where the old T8 light was then one into where the panels is like this.



It will fit 2 36W PC lamps no problems with 2 reflectors. (72W)

Only problem I can see now is that being 14 years old you would need to find at least £55 to do this and if you wanted each light to switch independently then you would need 2 starters so even more.

Andy
 
Top