Cycling Your Tank?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

GriffinC18

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hey guys and gals. So when i was a beginner in fish keeping, which i still am, I had an emergency in which i had to move a fish from a ten gallon to any other tank that i had. At the time I only had a empty one gallon (uncycled). I don't remember what the specific emergency was but i thought, okay well the choices are, it definitely dies if i keep it the ten gallon, or take a risk and see if it lives in an uncycled one gallon. I do believe the situation was a fry that i did not know that i had and wanted to save it from being eaten like the others. (I now know to be prepared) I did not have a filter for the one gallon, or a heater actually. I just poured in tap water, added the proper amount of conditioner stuff and placed the little fish inside. Now, that fish is still alive to this day, it's been about 5-6 months. The problem is it has not grown very much, little by little it grows, the baby endless are already bigger than it and they are only like a couple weeks to a month old i do believe. It's fine that he's small, i'll still love him anyways lol. But i thought that this might have something to do with the conditions.

Also, I guess i do not understand cycling, cause shouldn't this fish have died?

The fish don't always die straight away from being in an uncycled tank - they can develop health issues tho and die much younger than they normally should.
You are probably witnessing one of these issues if it is not growing properly.
Take a look at the articles 2 thro 4 listed on this page (the ones that have a red cross next to them)
http://www.fishforums.net/index.php?/forum/291-cycle-your-tank/
They explain how to cycle a tank properly and how to rescue a fish-in cycle (not many people would recommend fish-in cycle- it's far better to do a fishless cycle)