Cory fishes not eating, swimming near surface

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Ersy

Reaction score
Hi, I am quite new to the hobby and slowly built the first tank over the last months and I am a bit concerned with my Julii corys.

Since 3/4f days 4 out of the 5 we have started behaving in a really strange way, spending all time either sleeping on the top of leaves (close to the surface) or swimming erratically near the surface (but it doesn't seem swim bladder to me). One, in particular, seems pretty bad and is just swimming near the filter output and keeping mostly vertically. I have been watching them and they don't seem to have been eating anything for 3/4 days now. They seem quite responsive though and two of them have come down to the bottom for a few hours, but still not eating.

Before this happened I had left a big tapper ware on the water obstructing 1/6 of the water surface for a few days (I used it as an emergency quarantine tank for 3 neon that had some cottonmouth and died with an overdose of Myxazin, stupid mistake).

could the simple change in the landscape have stressed the corys so much? After removing the tapper ware we did a big water change and added some PH Acid corrector (given to us by the LFS) and the fishes are generally a bit stressed afterwards (we did this only 3 times).

Water parameters are not great but still acceptable (I have Aquavital test so no testing for ammonia levels but I assume it's zero as nitrite has always been zero). Nitrate was slightly too high but it has been below 25 for the past day. Ph between 7/8, water is hard unfortunately, over 14 GH, so I used bottled water the last time and is a bit better now.