Confused

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

chiara

Reaction score
Hi there, I am quite new to tropical fish keeping as I received just over a month ago my first little tank as a present. It is a small tank (30 liters) that cycled apparently well with a betta splendens, and a couple of corys (one unfortunately died during the cycle).
I went back to the shop after about a month after I got it with a sample of the water which they said was great and the person helping me in the shop said I could keep Dwarf Gouramis with the fighting fish so he sold me two males ( I found out that their gender just today on this website).
The fighting fish was acting a bit shy with the new tank mates for a couple of days but the third day he started being really aggressive chasing the Gouramis around the tank constantly.
After few hours they looked very stressed so I went back to the shop and they say I should remove the betta, which I did, and they sold me two new tank mates : two baby angel fish.
Today I was browsing websites to collect infos about how to look after my tank and found out that my tank is far too small for Angel fish!! I also found that two male Dwarf Gouramies shouldn't be kept toghether in a small tank as they could fight (they actually chase each other around sometimes but they don't do often)and that they also need a bigger tank.

I feel very confused right now and I feel like I am not helped by my local shop with competent advice. I don't want my fish to suffer, so I would like help on what to do.
Will my Gouramis and Angel fish survive in that little tank?
Please help!

Hi and welcome!

Well it seems you have already learned one of the golden rules of tropical fish keeping; don't trust anything your local fish shop (LFS) employee tells you. They are only interested in making you part with your money, and are often very ill informed and give people poor advice as they have done with you.