Complete beginner

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
šŸ¶ POTM Poll is Open! šŸ¦Ž Click here to Vote! šŸ°

dubblejd

Reaction score
Iā€™ve was given a tank and filter from a friend. Iā€™ve cleaned it, filled it and ran filter for 3 days then emptied and repeated the process a few times. Iā€™m now at the point of leaving it for a bother couple of weeks before we put the fish in for a Christmas present. Itā€™s a cold water fish setup

I woke up this morning and this white film like stuff is sitting on the top of the water. Is that normal or do I have a problem.

Iā€™ve also added the tap water conditioner but am waiting to put in the bio boost till just before we put the fish in.

Any help appreciated.

Thanks

Attachments

• 0331EFEB-716C-484C-A90C-25F39FCA51E5.jpeg
    0331EFEB-716C-484C-A90C-25F39FCA51E5.jpeg
    163.2 KB · Views: 39
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    171.9 KB · Views: 36
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    178 KB · Views: 37
you need to properly cycle your tank before adding fish...
read all about cycling and refer to the part about fishless cycling. If you don't cycle your tank before adding the fish, it might result in death of your fish. Cycling can take 5 to 7 weeks.

you need to properly cycle your tank before adding fish...
read all about cycling and refer to the part about fishless cycling. If you don't cycle your tank before adding the fish, it might result in death of your fish. Cycling can take 5 to 7 weeks.
Thanks for the info. I have got this bio boost which I havnt added yet. And i wonā€™t be getting the fish till end of December time. Il read up the article properly. Thanks

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    186.2 KB · Views: 20
Hi and welcome to start with... :hi:
The film you see at the surface could also be from the gravel you've put in. That's what it looks like to me...