Clownfish Tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Macscale

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I just got my new 20 gal tank set up. It has 20pounds of live sand and 10 pounds of live rock for now. I want to put a pair of ocellaris clown fish in the tank. I was wondering what you guys think I should put in the tank, coral-rock-invertebrate wise. Also I am not sure if my lights are good enough for a reef. There are 6 five bulb LED lights. It seems to get light evenly throughout. I am relatively new to saltwater tanks but have been doing freshwater for quite a while. I live in LWR, FL. We have some great local fish stores, so finding the coral won't be an issue. I'd like to thank everyone in advance.

At least a small CUC consisting of a few grazing snails and scavengers like Nassarius snails and small hermit species should go in the tank before the fish even if you build it up more later as the tank matures. 

Can you give more specs on the lights or link to the specific ones you have on a site somewhere? Bulb count doesn't really say much about how well suited the lights are to supporting corals.

I don't think those little lights you linked will provide anything other than color accents and night lighting.