Can’t seem to get water levels down

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Miffyiscute4

Reaction score
Hello! I am very new to fish keeping . I got a 20 litre tank about 2 months ago (the pets at home one) . I cycled it and then added 2 mollies , 4 neon tetras and 2 shrimp. All started well but then one of the mollies just randomly died . I thought it was just a classic pets at home thing so I left it a couple of days but the other mollie started to kinda swim in circles a lot (started as soon as the one died) . I brought in a sample of water for pets at home to test . They said my nitrates were high and so I needed to do regular water changes and also I brought some treatment for water bladder as they thought that was the issue . However I did see that the mollie tank was covered up with stickers saying how they are under quarantine due to illness and this was only a few days after I got my fish so I was a little SUS about that. But anyways all goes well and the mollie stops spinning and I eventually feel that the tank had settled down and about a month after the first fish dying I added another 2 mollies . These were females the previous ones were males . Everything was going good and then suddenly out of nowhere the “old” mollie dies . I checked water levels and brought a test into pets at home and this time my ammonia was high . The neons and shrimp have been totally fine this entire time . I am just not sure what I can do to get the tank levels right . Could it be the filter is bad ? I have been doing regular water changes , rarely feed them and when I do it’s a very little amount . But today when I did a water change the nitrates were high again (I don’t have any ammonia strips left , I’m ordering more now) , and when I was putting new water in there seemed to be a lot of debris floating around . Sorry for the long post but if anyone has any ideas what I can do please let me know!

Welcome Miffy,