Cannot beat the fin rot. Please help.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

cherryshrimp

Reaction score
I have been battling fin rot in a 20 gallon tank for 2 months now. It has 7 male guppies and 6 zebra danios. The fin rot originated from the guppies old tank, where they had their fins nipped by rainbows. After the stress of moving into a new tank, fin rot developed and eventually spread to the zebra danios. I tried a month of constant water changes, but it kept getting worse. Cut back on feeding... once a day, twice a week, once a week and still worse. So I turned to meds: Maracyn, Maracyn 2, Ich-X, Paracleanse. No luck, the fin rot has continued progressing. Danios are missing large pieces of their tails, and now one the guppies has been removed to a QT tank as he is on the verge of death.
image2.png
image1.png
image0.png
What can I do to stop this disease? The only thing I have not tried is salt, as the tank is planted. Any and all advice is appreciated..

Hello and welcome to the forum! :hi:

What are your water parameters?

Fin rot is caused by poor water quality. No meds are needed to treat it, and often make it worse...

I would stop with all the meds (have you been using them all at the same time?).

Large (75%+) daily water changes will help get rid of that fin rot.

(I also noticed that the guppy in picture #2 has stringy poop, do any of the others have this?)

Fin rot is caused by poor water quality. No meds are needed to treat it, and often make it worse...

I would stop with all the meds (have you been using them all at the same time?).

(I also noticed that the guppy in picture #2 has stringy poop, do any of the others have this?)

The fin rot originated from the guppies old tank, where they had their fins nipped by rainbows. After the stress of moving into a new tank, fin rot developed and eventually spread to the zebra danios.

Ph: 7.4-7.6
Ammonia: 0
Nitrite: 0
Nitrate: 10-20
GH: 8
KH: 2