Bonsai

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

SlowSwim

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi guys,

Ive been practising bonsai for 3 years now. Im really enoying it.

Is they're anyone else here that would like to get into it or is already engrowsed.. :D

- matt

I've always wanted to get into growing a Bonsai tree - I bought one of those cheap little kits last year but have never got round to it because it needs to be done at a certain time and with certain procedures doesn't it?

Not really, when people hear "BONSAI" some people get the idea that its an exotic hobby and you use only exoctic plants. Some people believe that bonsai is hard. Most people get into it buying kits like you have.. These kits are a waste of money they die really easy because they are in rubbish soil.

If your still interested read up bonsai on the internet buy a few books then go to your local garden centre or find out where you local bonsai nursery is and they'll give you advice on what tree would suit you to start on.

Bonsai is making a potted tree look like a real tree in the wild.

There are many styles to choose from to suit all.

If you'd like i'll post a few of my bonsai Some in the works, some half done.. and some that are finished trees.

All you need to do to keep a bonsai is water, fertalize, and prune.. You also have to do a yearly root prune and repot.

But every tree has its own requirements.

Best thing to do is go on www.google.com and type in BONSAI on images you should get loads of images for ispiration.

Bonsai is an ART!

- matt_

Well its an expensive way to get into bonsai :D

Go to B&Q they have bonsai to the standard of that website for £4.99 for the small ones and £9.99 for bonsai twice that size.. Do you have out door space? the easiest of bonsai lives out doors :D