Black Neon Tetras

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Supersalmon

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I saw some black neon tetras in a lfs and think they are gorgeous. I have a tank with platties, guppies, a zebra, 2 ancistrus and a betta and am looking for some shoaling fish. I am quite new to fish keeping and am looking for some shoaling fish. Are the black neons easy to care for? Also how many do I need for them to shoal? I have also heard that black neons aren't really neons at all, but a different species. Also do Cherry barbs shoal, as i have thought about getting them?

Hyphessobrycon herbertaxelrodi, (Black Neon Tetra), is a peaceful, understated, but in my opinion, highly desirable little fish - I'm glad you like them. They are a schooling species best kept in groups 5-6 or more. They are in the same family as Paracheirodon innesi, (Neon Tetra), but a different genus so are related, but not that closely. That said, their care and maintenance requirement is similar.

Cherry Barbs are not a schooling fish, indeed, males may fight. Best kept as a pair, or trio 1 male, 2 females.

Incidently - Zebra's are schooling fish as well - I note you have just 1. Alone, they can be right nasty fin nippers - just a heads up.

Thanks,
Hope to get more zebras at the weekend, had 3 but lost 2. Is my water too alkaline for black neons pH is 7.6? If it is can you suggest any other peaceful shoaling fish? Think I will leave the cherry barbs out.

>>> Is my water too alkaline for black neons pH is 7.6?

No. The original waters that a lot of these small tetras come from are soft and acidic, however, the majority of them you see in a typical dealers tank have been bred in captivity and lived in harder more alkali water for most of their lives.

>>> If it is can you suggest any other peaceful shoaling fish?

Rasbora heteromorpha, (Harlequin), maybe - peaceful, schooling fish. Doesn't get big, nicely marked.