Bitten Good by the Saltwater Bug

gilltyascharged

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Well, it finally happened...I think I found a new interest. After weeks of sneaking glances at my Chem teacher's 75gal FOWLR, I finally asked him about it. And well...it seemed a lot less complicated than I would have initially guessed. Fast forward a few months, and I've poured over TFH's saltwater articles and FishLore's numerous profiles. I'm hooked, and I think that I may want to try my hand at this hobby.
Realistically, is this something I could pull off? I am a high school student who, although I have experience with freshwater tanks, have never set foot near a hydrometer or a bag of aquarium salt. My budget could probably extend to smaller (~20gal or less) tanks, but this means I would likely only have room for a handful of invertebrate species or some of the smaller gobies (maybe a clown or two in a 20gal? I'm going off of various sources :blink:)--not to mention that I'm not entirely sure how hardy these little guys are. Currently I think I would be looking at a nano FOWLR (I think inverts are classified under that), but am not entirely sure as to how more experienced members feel about that.
Any thoughts?

Thanks! Gilltyascharged :)

I started keeping marine fish when I was 14 and had no idea what I was getting in for. After several years of struggling I found a book on marine fish and it explained the filter cycle (that was life changing). That was last century before pet shops gave advice on how to care for fish and well before the interweb thingy we use today.