Betta tank plans. Suggestions?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Reimu

Reaction score
Hi, it's my first time posting here.

I want to make a simple planted tank for betta and ghost shrimps. For obvious reasons, I haven't bought them yet. I plan to let the tank be for a few weeks with plants, then add shrimps then the betta.

The tank is a 5.5 gallon, wider than tall. I also have a silent filter, thermometer, heater, and a variety of water treatments and kits when needed.

My original plan is to use a gravel substrate, the brownish natural-looking ones. For a hiding place, it would have a half cork bark that can be found in the reptile section. I find that it's easier to sink when boiled first. After that, I plan to weigh it down by covering parts of it with the substrate. This can additionally be a place for plants.

For the plants, I want to have dwarf hairgrass for carpeting. It's only a few, which I then let grow out and propagate. I'm still unsure for the main centrepiece plant that can be used for overhang. I considered either hornwort or java fern, which can also be places to hide.

The sketch of the layout:

Do you have any suggestions? I know betta can eat the shrimps, but from my experience with good temperament and feeding the bettas ignore the shrimps

Attachments

• tank.png
    tank.png
    178.6 KB · Views: 90