Betta: Shredded Fins. Help!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

mrstwalker

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I recently moved and now live in a place that runs off of city water. I purchased the API water conditioner (store was out of Seachem prime -- I hear that is the best you can get). I also transported all of my cycled media to jump start my cycle. I haven't been able to test the water parameters yet here (been here for about 4 days now) because all of that stuff got put in storage 
sleep.png
 I will probably be able to get my API master test kits back on Sunday.

So anyway, I'm new to chlorinated water and I hear that they add more ammonia to the water during summer months? So could their fins be torn up from that? It does not appear to be fin rot and it does not appear to be fin biting. I know that the 2 males haven't gotten into the other's side so I know it isn't from fighting. Also, neither fish appears to be sick. I couldn't get a picture of the veil tail, but the crown tail has the worst damage. Also, I know these pictures may appear to look like how a crown tail can look normally, but this guy below (Calypso is his name) normally has a very full tail. 

Please help! 

Possibly the start of fin rot.if it is treat with triple sulfa or the likes.

gmc1 said:
Possibly the start of fin rot.if it is treat with triple sulfa or the likes.

Even though one day their tails were fine and the next day they were completely destroyed like this?

They could of been gradually getting smaller without noticing too much.until now.it may be something else but it did happen to me before.

Can they see each other through the divider? I used to keep two males like this and they both tore their tails in frustration as they tried to get to one another, the change in position of the tank may allow them to see one another clearer.

betta fish said: