Betta Fin Loss - Help Requested

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

b3t4m0m

Reaction score
Hello y'all.

This is my first post on this lovely forum, but I'm coming to you with a rather pressing issue. I'm a newbie beta fish hobbyist, having adored the species for awhile now, and unfortunately one come down with some form of mystery ailment that I've never encountered before.

My two fish share a 2.5 gallon tank that's split down the middle (too small, I know). My older sick fish is named Reno, who inhabits the right side of the tank. Over the summer I've become a bit lax when feeding them (every other day usually, but they were both overweight) and over the course of a few weeks I noticed that Reno wasn't eating anything I sprinkled into his side of the tank, or interacting with as much interest as he used to. It was only until today that I realized how bad he's become.

He no longer swims around his tank and darts behind the hidey holes I've made him, but instead only lies on the bottom. When he swims up for air, he can notably only swim sideways. He was once a vibrant purple, but is now discolored over most of his body in either a light pink or sickly white. Possibly the most disturbing thing about his current state is his scale loss. There's patches on either side of his body where there's none, and the tissue wounds run deep- to the point if you hold him up to the light, you can see right through.

Included are some rather poor-quality photos, but I'm working with limited equipment at the moment and did the best I could. They'll be updated when I manage to find my better camera. The question remains however - is there anything that can be done, or considering the advancement of the wounds, is euthanasia a better option?