Ammonia level won’t go down. Please help

Rocky998

Fish Gatherer
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
2,445
Reaction score
1,019
Location
Why must you know
I am sure I do. It’s purchased at a hardware store? This Just keeps getting better ha ha
Yup. It should look like this:
 

Attachments

  • 0914211434.jpg
    0914211434.jpg
    220.5 KB · Views: 13

Essjay

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Global Moderator
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
15,395
Reaction score
11,038
Location
Teesside, UK
Ammonia can be used for cleaning. My grandmother used it for cleaning brass.
Many ammonia manufacturers also put detergent (also called surfactant) and perfume in their products and these can't be used. You need one that is just ammonia. If Rocky knows that the one in his photo is just ammonia, it's good to use.
 
OP
Tenaj

Tenaj

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
126
Reaction score
28
Location
Florida
Ammonia can be used for cleaning. My grandmother used it for cleaning brass.
Many ammonia manufacturers also put detergent (also called surfactant) and perfume in their products and these can't be used. You need one that is just ammonia. If Rocky knows that the one in his photo is just ammonia, it's good to use.
I am down to 1 fish. Only thing I did different was use a different water conditioner as in picture. Top fin to API 😢
 

Attachments

  • 67EAF236-D81A-4B56-A1D9-09BAF1AA4021.jpeg
    67EAF236-D81A-4B56-A1D9-09BAF1AA4021.jpeg
    280.8 KB · Views: 11
OP
Tenaj

Tenaj

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
126
Reaction score
28
Location
Florida
If you dont have an ace near you then get the Dr. Tims ammonium. Ive heard good things about that stuff. But ace's 10% ammonia is way cheaper and you can use the aquarium calculator to see how much you should use...
I am down to 1 fish. Only thing I did different was use a different water conditioner as in picture. Top fin to API 😢
If this last one doesn’t pull
Through, I’ll go pick up the ammonia
😢😢😢😢
 

Attachments

  • 22E94DF9-21BB-4867-86A8-DDAF2B1FFDF2.jpeg
    22E94DF9-21BB-4867-86A8-DDAF2B1FFDF2.jpeg
    280.8 KB · Views: 14
OP
Tenaj

Tenaj

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
126
Reaction score
28
Location
Florida
You don't need to do a water change unless ammonia is more than 3ppm.
If the last fish die, test for ammonia before doing anything else. For cycling without fish, you need to start at 3 ppm ammonia. If the level is that high, you don't need to add any more for a while, but if it's lower than that you need to add enough to get it up to 3 ppm. And if it's more then 3, do a water change to get it down to 3.
Then follow this method

Since you will have grown some ammonia eaters, just not enough, it should go quicker than usual.
Ammonia can be used for cleaning. My grandmother used it for cleaning brass.
Many ammonia manufacturers also put detergent (also called surfactant) and perfume in their products and these can't be used. You need one that is just ammonia. If Rocky knows that the one in his photo is just ammonia, it's good to use.
I read over the link. I have to now get my ammonia level back up to 3 then what?? This is so confusing.
 

Myraan

Fishaholic
Joined
Aug 23, 2021
Messages
530
Reaction score
500
Location
UK (south Wales)
Then you wait..... but is this another tank or did they all die.... If you have have fish and add ammonia to 3ppm the fish will be really sick
 
OP
Tenaj

Tenaj

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
126
Reaction score
28
Location
Florida
Then you wait..... but is this another tank or did they all die.... If you have have fish and add ammonia to 3ppm the fish will be really sick
😢😢😢😢😢😢 they all died 😢😢😢😢😢😢😢😢😢😢😢
Trying to understand how to start over With what I already have. The water was changed today, 75-80%. All fish are out and buried 😢😢😢. The link is so overwhelming. Trying to simply the process in my brain. Please walk me through it. Do I keep the water I have? Should I test the ammonia?
 

Myraan

Fishaholic
Joined
Aug 23, 2021
Messages
530
Reaction score
500
Location
UK (south Wales)
Test everything

Follow the instructions in the linked article.... but try to imagine you are likely several days or weeks into the process already.

It might be an idea to empty and clean the tank (but keep the filter media in a bucket of tank water) just to check for a dead fish or whatever..... hell maybe a cat or something did a poo or pee in the water causing the initial jump to 8ppm.
 
OP
Tenaj

Tenaj

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
126
Reaction score
28
Location
Florida
Test everything

Follow the instructions in the linked article.... but try to imagine you are likely several days or weeks into the process already.

It might be an idea to empty and clean the tank (but keep the filter media in a bucket of tank water) just to check for a dead fish or whatever..... hell maybe a cat or something did a poo or pee in the water causing the initial jump to 8ppm.
I have no kids or pets 😆
I once had six tetras four barbs and four Danios.
Today I killed them all 😢😢😢😢
I will test all levels and post pics.
 

Rocky998

Fish Gatherer
Joined
Jun 25, 2021
Messages
2,445
Reaction score
1,019
Location
Why must you know
I am down to 1 fish. Only thing I did different was use a different water conditioner as in picture. Top fin to API 😢
If this last one doesn’t pull
Through, I’ll go pick up the ammonia
😢😢😢😢
Man, I'm so sorry. Just know that you did everything you could at the time.
 
OP
Tenaj

Tenaj

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
126
Reaction score
28
Location
Florida
Then you wait..... but is this another tank or did they all die.... If you have have fish and add ammonia to 3ppm the fish will be really sick
Ok I have tested water after 75% water change and all fish gone. I have posted pictures.
ammonia, nitrite, ph, nitrate
 

Attachments

  • A8175C35-64EC-4090-A62F-DF0B3BFFBDD0.jpeg
    A8175C35-64EC-4090-A62F-DF0B3BFFBDD0.jpeg
    198.5 KB · Views: 10
  • 06573694-CE15-4C6E-AFC5-A042D6D8C184.jpeg
    06573694-CE15-4C6E-AFC5-A042D6D8C184.jpeg
    219.7 KB · Views: 10
  • AAD9F492-CE9E-4529-ABBD-7BFD7C186032.jpeg
    AAD9F492-CE9E-4529-ABBD-7BFD7C186032.jpeg
    225.5 KB · Views: 9
  • B0D75EFB-0337-43BD-AD70-EA2B17C05CAF.jpeg
    B0D75EFB-0337-43BD-AD70-EA2B17C05CAF.jpeg
    235.5 KB · Views: 10
OP
Tenaj

Tenaj

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
126
Reaction score
28
Location
Florida
Man, I'm so sorry. Just know that you did everything you could at the time.
Thank you.
Ok I have tested water after 75% water change and all fish gone. I have posted pictures.
ammonia, nitrite, ph, nitrate
 

Attachments

  • 4073471B-EB95-4D2F-8D3B-07F67E6D8F2B.jpeg
    4073471B-EB95-4D2F-8D3B-07F67E6D8F2B.jpeg
    198.5 KB · Views: 10
  • 5E926A7F-355A-4E7F-AA58-6C61AE782FD5.jpeg
    5E926A7F-355A-4E7F-AA58-6C61AE782FD5.jpeg
    219.7 KB · Views: 10
  • 054226A3-12BF-4875-BADD-3AEDE46C5317.jpeg
    054226A3-12BF-4875-BADD-3AEDE46C5317.jpeg
    225.5 KB · Views: 8
  • 0CC45161-A452-4179-BCB0-49E258261C28.jpeg
    0CC45161-A452-4179-BCB0-49E258261C28.jpeg
    235.5 KB · Views: 10

Myraan

Fishaholic
Joined
Aug 23, 2021
Messages
530
Reaction score
500
Location
UK (south Wales)
I think do nothing - theoretically the ammonia should go to zero

Do not add chemical ammonia until ammonia is zero.

You know you have enough ammonia eating bacteria when it takes only a day for it to from 3ppm to zero

you can calculate how much chemical that is on a calculator somewhere on this site, i assume its linked on the fishless cycle page

because you have plants, you may not require many BB but I would say its safer if you have some just because you pH is above 7
 

Most reactions

Top