Algae bloom

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Isaac E

Reaction score
Hello! I’m new to this group and appreciate your acceptance. I’m no expert, but I need help and figured this was my best shot. I keep getting what seems like an Algae bloom. I’ve tried shutting the lights off and that worked once, chemicals and turning lights off, wrapped the tank for total darkness, changed to another tank and here it comes again. I boiled the gravel and scrubbed the ornaments in hot hot water outta the tank. The flake food is old but has been kept in the crisper( the big bag, I keep a smaller Tupperware container for to have a small bit out). Could it be the food is to old and breaking down?

Need more info before anything can really be said.

Can you post a photo of the tank when in bloom so it can be determined if it is algae or possibly a bacteria bloom?

What are the water parameters such as ammonia, nitrites and nitrates.?

How long has the tank been setup?

To add on to my post above I went back and read your initial post again. If you boiled the gravel and scrubbed other stuff in hot water you killed any good bacteria except what may or may not be in the tank's filter. It is VERY possible that you are actually seeing a bacteria bloom as the tank tries to do its nitrogen cycle again.

You also mention old food so I must assume that the tank is populated with fish. The food probably has an expiration date. Don't use if past or even close to this date.

We really, REALLY, need a tank photo.