Which Is More Accurate - Ph Test Strip Vs. Liquid Kit

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

dsiegel13

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I was having a pH problem according to both my Jungle Labs test strips and my API test liquid, both had me dipping in the low 6.0's.

So, I add some Alkaline Booster, and test 20-25 mins later w/ both the strips and the liquid and I am getting completely different readings.

Strips pH = 6.8

Liquid pH = 7.6 (the H2O went from yellow to blue)

Which in most peoples experience is more accurate? I am new to testing pH for my tank, so I am trying both, but with the health and safety of my fish in mind I want to make sure that I am getting proper readings.

Please help.

Thanks.

:fish:

I would think that if they are both quality test kits and not expired that they should both be accurate? I've used both and personally don't see the difference.

the actual Ph test stips are accurate enough for what we need them for. In fact we use them at work to test urine Ph and Stomach acid Ph. They are easier to use than regant test kits as there are IMO there is more room for error with a liquid test kit for Ph.

Liquid, no doubt about it. If you are using strips you may be mor eaccurate guessing.

Yes, they are used for major medical things, where the difference 1.0 or more, not 0.1 or 0.2. Don't waste money on strips.

Liquid, no doubt about it. If you are using strips you may be mor eaccurate guessing.

Yes, they are used for major medical things, where the difference 1.0 or more, not 0.1 or 0.2. Don't waste money on strips.

But for fishkeeping, a difference of 0.1 or 0.2 pH units is basically meaningless. If a fish cannot handle a change in pH of 0.1 or 0.2 units, then it is in serious trouble.