Whay are these fish called

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Save037

Reaction score
Hello everyone what do we call these fishes and is it ok to keep them togather in one tank and what do i have to do to keep them alive i am new to this hobby

351ct5h.jpg

The upper two fish (vertical stripe) are Tiger Barbs (Puntigrus tetrazona) and the four lower fish are Rosy Barbs (Pethia conchonius). Both are barbs, a group of fish in the cyprinid family.

They can be kept together, but you have to get a few more, especially of the Tiger Barb. This species is a fin nipper, and in groups less than about 8 this can be a real problem. I don't know the size of your tank, but a group of 8 should be in nothing less than a 29g (length 30 inches or 75 cm). If your tank is smaller, I would return the two Tiger Barbs as they are going to have difficulties. These fish are termed shoaling, and must be in groups to function normally or they will be stressed and problematic.

Thank you sir the pet shop guy didnt told us anything about this so now i have to return the tiger barb and what about the two black ones at the bottom right?

The black fish in the bottom right are black moor goldfish and should be kept in tanks with other fantail (double tailed) goldfish. They generally don't do well when mixed with barbs.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but shouldn't goldfish be kept in at least a 20 gallon tank? Also goldfish are cold water fish are they not? If I'm right about goldfsh needing colder water, then they should not be in the same tank with barbs because they require different water temperatures. I'm not an expert on goldfish though, so maybe someone else can elaborate more on this.

and what about the two black ones at the bottom right?

Missed those earlier, didn't even see them as fish, lol. Colin and FishFinatic77 both answered on these. They should not be with tropicals for several reasons.