What's wrong with my Betta?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

claudiag

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I really hope someone can help me. I am a beginner and set up my tank on Thursday. I conditioned the water and everything and then tested the water at my pet store on Saturday. They said everything looks good so I got my first fish. I got a black orchid Betta and 3 tetras. They seemed fine when I brought them home, but the next day I found two of the tetras dead. We went back to the store and saw that two more were dead in their own tank. We decided to get some other tetras. They are doing great and are eating and swimming around.

Now, after I thought we are finally okay, I noticed this morning that my Betta was just laying around in a corner and when he started swimming again, I saw that his bottom fin is ripped and he has a white belly. I have no idea what is wrong with him and if there is anything I need to do. If you know, please let me know! Thank you!
IMG_20200511_092702.jpg

Did you cycle your tank properly before adding fish? Also you should not put a Betta in with tetras or almost any other fish. They prefer being the sole occupant of a tank..except maybe a snail or two. Do a 75% Water Change immediately and use a test kit to test water conditions. If you see any ammonia or nitrates in a day or so, do another water change.

It is best to do a fishless cycling of your tank. Here is our guidelines for proper cycling.

What size tank? Remove the other fish immediately and do a 75% water change. Probably an ammonia spike from a non cycled tank.

Could you get a photo of the white on his belly?

The torn fin is probably from the tetras nipping his fins, they do that. Could also be fin rot or both. Do a daily water change of 75% to avoid ammonia spikes and help the fins heal

Is it just me, or does the betta have fin rot? (See under side, near pectoral fin)