What Next?

Getifa

Reaction score
I'm new into the hobby and have finally got my tank and some fish. The tank is now a week old and I got 10 fish. The dealer said I could have upto 25 fish in the tank.

So far I have:

2 Gourami's (Yellow, with slight stripes at the top.)
3 Cories
5 Red Eye Tetras.

I'm wondering what to go for next. I like Swordtails and Tiger Barbs. I was thinking of getting 1 male Swordtail and maybe some babes for him, But wasn't sure how many females I could get for him, without wearing the little guy out. :p My Dad told me that Tiger Barbs are nippers and that I shouldn't get them, But the dealer said they would be fine as long as I got them in big enough numbers. I'm not sure exactly how many would be enough. Any other suggestions? My tank is 24" - 18" - 12".

I'm not interested in breeding my fish, just keeping them alive at the moment will be enough of a victory.

Thanks

John

I'm no expert, but from what you've said, you haven't cycled the tank, and you have 10 fish in there? I made the same mistake, but I had 2 fish in, even then I had to change my water by 50% everyday for the first 3 weeks, and this last week I've done it every other day now my cycle is complete.

So, I would say refrain from buying more fish until the cycling is complete, like you say, your biggest victory will be keeping you fish actually alive.

Also, from what you tell us, your dealer sounds like all he is intereseted in is a sale, I would probably believe your dad over this dealer, even though I have met neither, just this dealer sounds like he will literally do anything for a sale. Thats why this site is brilliant, these people aren't after a sale, we're after the best care for your fish :good:

your tank is roughly 22 US gallons, and as the rule goes, 1 Inch per gallon, so from what I've understood, a 2 inch fish requires 2 gallons and a 1 inch fish requires 1 gallon. btw, these are the sizes of fully grown fish, not the size they are at the moment.