What Do People Recon Of These

garuf

Fish Addict
Reaction score
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/killifish-N-Rachovii...VQQcmdZViewItem

admitadly its not the lampeyes i was after but they are for stunning fish, would this be suitaible for a beginner like me and more importantly would my tank a 18x12x2 planted tank be suitable for them once they hatch?
any and all information welcomed
help a newbie get it right :)
all the best
gareth

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
I would say no to Rachovi if your a complete beginner simply because the fry are very small and IMO need infusorians for the first couple of days of their lives before going on to BBS. They are annuals. If its annuals your after for a beginner you'd be much better looking out for Nothobranchius palmqvisti or Nothobranchius guentheri. admitidly not as colourful but a damm sight easier than N. rachovi. also their eggs have a shorter incubation/diapause than Rachovi.
Regards
BigC

I would say no to Rachovi if your a complete beginner simply because the fry are very small and IMO need infusorians for the first couple of days of their lives before going on to BBS. They are annuals. If its annuals your after for a beginner you'd be much better looking out for Nothobranchius palmqvisti or Nothobranchius guentheri. admitidly not as colourful but a damm sight easier than N. rachovi. also their eggs have a shorter incubation/diapause than Rachovi.
Regards
BigC
hey thank you for the reply, and the advice id love to get into killis but im realy not sure how to go about it since my current 10 gallon has ottos and shrimp and im under the impression theyll get eaten i realy realy like lampeyes but i havnt been able to find any anywhere no matter how hard i look nor what scientific name i use thats the main reason for my other post
are there anyother killis that would do well in this set up or should i wait and get a second tank when funds allow?