Water changes question

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

grimyness

Reaction score
I am new to fish keeping and I bought a 125 gallon aquarium.

All of the specimans in the tank require 25% water change per month.

My question is does it need to be at the same time or can I change out 1 gallon per day which would equate to roughly 25%?

Answer much appreciated.

Thanks!

I am someone who is on the low side for aquarium water changes, I used to change only 20% of my water weekly. I now change 40 to 50% of my water weekly. A gallon a day won't do very much in my opinion.

I am assuming the question is with reference to a freshwater aquarium (not marine). If fish are in the aquarium (or intended), you need to do a regular--which here means once a week, every week--partial water change. The volume of the water changed is where aquarists vary. While it is true to a limited degree that this depends upon the number of fish, tank size, live plants, fish size and type, and such, the scientific truth is that the more water changed the better the health of the fish. Minimal volumes, like 1 gallon a week will make absolutely no difference; 10 gallons in a 125g similar, even 25% of this volume (which would be roughly 30 gallons, is really not going to do anything. I'll come back to this.

Provided the parameters--and to be certain, these refer to four things only, GH (general hardness), KH (carbonate hardness or Alkalinity), pH and temperature--are reasonably similar between those of the tap (source/fresh) water and the tank water at the time of change, large volume changes of 50-60%, even 70% of the tank's water can and should be changed. The article pinned in the Tropical Discussion Form here https://www.fishforums.net/threads/regular-partial-water-changes.471488/ explains why this is good maintenance. There is "stuff" in the water that cannot be removed by any other method.