want 2 start a sw tank

🐠 May TOTM Voting is Live! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

Italian_Stallion

Reaction score
i have a 3ft tank and i would like 2 start a sw tank. is it big enough?? i have a heater and some test equipment. i have a ehiem 2210 internal filter, but i dont think its suitable 4 sw. what filter would you recomend??

i am a newbie and i dont understand most things in this forum so if you could talk in simple terms that would be most appreciated

Hi and welcome.

First of all lets establish the volume of the tank. 3ft is a good length but it doesnt give hieght (very important later on for lighting) or depth from front to back.

For now though lets assume we are working on roughly 30 UK gallons.
This is a good size for a marine setup.

Now lets consider if you want fish only or full reef setup.
If you want fish only then lighting is not an issue as fish arent fussy :p
Reef setups need the correct lighting if they are to thrive. (more on this later)

Filtration. The best you can get is Liverock. Wether for fish only or reefs its simply the best you can get. The amount of live rock needed is about 1kg per gallon of water. (15kg for 30 gallons). The live rock will allow bacteria to grow on it and more importantly within it. Its the only filter that can turn nitrites to harmless nitrogen gas (algeas can do this too but really can only offer a supporting role to liverock).
Not only are you getting the best filter possible for your setup, its doubles up as great looking aquascapes! You will find the life that appears on live rock after a few weeks of being in the tank can sometimes be more suprising and interesting than the fish you have in the tank!