Upgrading Tank, Stocking Questions

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

BrittxAndersen

Reaction score
Hello,
So I am relatively new to fish keeping. I bought a 25g tank to start out with and have 6 Platies and 2 CoryCat Fish. I have had this tank going for about 6 months now and am upgrading to a 65g tank in a few days after we move. I have purchased the new tank/new filter and all the other fun stuff for the tank.

I guess my question is my platies are obviously very important to me but my husband wants more than just one type of fish in our tank. What would be the best tank mates for my Platies and CoryCatFish that would give a great visual look but also be a happy community?

first of all you need at least 4 more corries, but in a 65 gal the sky is the limit! You could get a nice school of 20 or so in there. I would go with some more types of livebearers Or maybe some danios.

I agree that you need to increase the group of Corydoras, and given the space in a 65g tank a larger group like CrtyptFan suggested would be best. I might say 15-20, depending if any other substrate fish are intended. Same species, or mixed, up to you, but it is always best to have a few of each species. Cories are very social fish and will always be less stressed and thus healthier the more there are.

Moving beyond that, it will help to know the tank dimensions and the water parameters of your source (tap) water. The GH (general hardness) is most important, then pH. You may be able to track these down on the website of your water authority if you do not already know. And I'll mention here that whenever numbers are involved it is best to know the numbers rather than vague general terms that can mean different things.

Welcome to TFF. :hi: