Upgraded Can Anyone Help Please

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

strattso

Reaction score
Hi,
I am a relative novice at keeping tropical or any fish come to that, but I am already completely adicted to it. I have just upgraded from a 60 litre tank to a 190litre juwel trigon tank. I have moved all the fish and set up the new tank, using all the filter sponges from my old tank and most of the gravel as well as most of the water.The problem that I have is the water is milky. I only did the changover last night, I used filter bacteria and did not expect this, as when I started my other tank I did not get this.
Is it what they call cycling bloom? I did put some aqua clear in it this morning. However it has done little or no good. Will I have to be patient, or is there anything else that I could do. I have 15 small fish. so in such a large tank I dont think that it will cause a problem. Any help please

So you have added the fishies and not cycled the tank? It could be a number of things...try posting answers to these questions :)

What is your tank details?

ph -
ammonia -
nitrite -
nitrate -
hard or soft water?
What subtrate do you have in it? Sand or gravel? Is the filter new?

Hello and welcome to the forum. :hi:

It's amazing how quickly the second tank comes after the first. When we got our first tank, my wife went out and bought a second 2.5 gallon tank for a betta before we ever got fish in the first one.

Did you wash the gravel good when you moved it? If not, the milky water is probably a bacterial bloom from the waste that was stirred up in the change. Even if you did wash it, it's still probably bacterial and will clear in a few days. I would hold off on any more of the chemicals (other than dechlorinator). As a general rule, chemicals seem to cause more problems than they cure.