Unsure?!?!

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Ajbolton

Reaction score
I am new to the hobby of fish keeping and have had my tank working for 4 weeks. I've done a large amount of research on the internet and from books and decided not to do a fishless cycle but instead I added two zebra danios after a week and a week later I added another to try and prevent/lessen the bullying that the slightly larger fish was dishing out. (All the levels were still between 0-1 so I thought it would be ok.) Now all the fish seem to be rather healthy and the bullying has lessened.

Ok the first problem I have is to do with toxin levels. I have been testing Ammonia, Nitrites and Nitrates at least every other day (Mostly every day) for the four weeks.

Since I had the tank running (even without fish) I've had an ammonia reading of 1. At the end of the 3rd week (I hadn't tested the previous day) the results went from Ammonia 1, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 0 to Ammonia 0, Nitrite 5, Nitrate 10 and thought this was rather a fast incline. Now at the end of week 4 (I havn't done a waterchange yet on the advise of a fishkeeping friend) My results are Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 5. I was wondering why the nitrate level was lower than previously when I have no real plants only arteficial ones and whether these results mean that my cycle has finished and it is safe to add more fish?