Tiny tank, big possibilities??

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Nugget

Reaction score
Hello!

I am relatively new to the aquatic world. I have been an arachnid and millipede keeper for going on 7 years and have had my betta and a pair of female snails since October. I also had a fish tank growing up so I have a little knowledge from that.

I purchased a 2 gallon upright hexagonal tank awhile ago for my millipedes (it was 50% full of soil and plants) but I recently moved them to a tank with more surface area and decided it was time to get another aquatic critter.

I understand the tank is on the small side, but I was wondering if there was absolutely anything that I could comfortably put inside the little tank and have it stay healthy and happy. I am open to fish, inverts, amphibians/reptiles, and anything else I may have missed. I am willing to do live plants as well. (I don't like the look of fake plants anyways...) I am also willing to try out a salt water tank, HOWEVER, from my understanding, salt water tanks should never be under 10 gallons so that is probably out of the picture.

Thank you guys in advance!

~~~

If anyone has any arachnid questions, feel free to hit me up on instagram ( @ tarantula_toes2 ) or on arachonoboards (username: Nugget )

^It wouldn't let me edit my post so Im adding it here: The tank has a filter that will be used and a mini heater is available.

Hi

I am sorry to have to say this but 2 gallon is too small for any fish, I have bigger coffee cups.

Welcome to TFF.

I agree with Nick; tanks less than 5 gallons are really not going to house any fish. Invertebrates (shrimp, snails) and plants are about it.

Byron.