Think petsmart gave me bad advice.. help!

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Reaction score
I am new to this hobby and just got some fish on Monday.
The ladies that I had been talking about this to for WEEKS before making the decision to add fish to my tank assured me that the fish I chose to get would be perfectly fine together.

However, my molly fish has started ‘shimmying’ and after doing research about the causes, one reason is that the water may be too soft. They need hard water, along with my guppies.

So then I researched that and my gourami needs soft water apparently?

So they live in two completely different water conditions.

What do I do now?!

PS: I havent gotten my testing kit yet, I had been taking my water to a local pet shiop for testing so I dont have exact levels, I just know that they told me the water was ‘good’.

Pet shops rarely give good advice I'm afraid.

Yes, the livebearers do need hard water and the gouramis do need soft water. You may be able to find out how hard or soft your water is from your water provider's website, that will give us an idea of what we are dealing with.We need a number and the units as there are several that could use.
Once we know just how hard or soft the water is, you'll probably need to rehome some of the fish, I'm afraid. Guppies can cope with water slightly softer than mollies, but both need hard water.

Your next priority is a test kit. Liquid reagent testers are better than strips, but whichever you get you need to able to test for ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and pH. Shops are notorious for saying the water is fine when it is not.