Things as a photographer I can bring into aquascaping

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Oddball59

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Kia Ora, Hi, These are artistic tricks that apply to any form of art that you are creating or viewing and help make the image pleasing, it applies to most creative arts, of which aqua scaling is one, but photography, painting, sculpting etc...

First of all is the rule of thirds...which refers to compositional placement of the main objects you want viewers to focus on, these can then be used to lead the viewers eye in any direction from that one focal point, you can actually have more than one focal point on the rule of thirds. It is also very much about creating a balanced image. The rule of thirds also is used to give depth to an image, layering is important to give depth front to back maybe and is the most common, and in photography a slow shutter speed can introduce movement.... well we've already got that nailed in our tanks with beautiful fish.

The golden triangle. This is used to bring balance and scale to an image. it can also alter the dynamics of an image, it can introduce tension or tranquility. It's for optimum placement within your image (aqua scape) of focal points to lead or draw the eye to what you want to be points of focus, from which the view expands into a greater whole image. This can also very much include light as well as objects, darker areas can be mysterious or even threatening. light/bright areas are an ideal starting point for the eye and this also applies to the rule of thirds.