The Virgin Salty Set Up

phishyphil

Fish Addict
Reaction score
So finally, after months of deliberation and should I, shouldn't I moments, I have finally taken the plunge into the saltier side of fish keeping, and needles to say, I am Bricking it in terms of something going disastrously wrong!

BACKGROUND

Having been around the forum for a couple of years now in the tropical side at least, I have gained valuable knowledge here, and i'd like to think, I have given other's a little bit of help along the way. 
     Like I said, I have been keeping planted tropical fish for the past 3 years and experimented with planted, pressurized CO2, DIY Co2, ferts, Low Tech, High tech tanks and what not, so thought why not try my hand at Marine fish keeping, so here I am!

THE TANK & SET UP

TANK :
The tank is a 25 US Gallon, 36" x 12" x 14" Rimless Rectangle tank which I had laying around from a previous Planted set up. It will be a FOWLR set up to start with. I will not be skimming, sumping, or refuging for the next couple of months, although this is likely to change.

FILTRATION :
Filtration will be predominantly from the Live rock in the tank, with additional filtration and support from an External TetraTec EX600 Canister Filter.

FLOW :
Flow rate is going to be around the 3000 lph mark (Tank volume is 100 litres) so 30x Turnover, This will be achieved via 1 2500 lph power head and the filter 

SAND BED & SAND USED : 
I have gone for ordinary Crushed Coral sand, around 1-2mm in diameter as opposed to the live sand being sold for extortionate amounts in the LFS. Due to size I will not be attempting a DSB and gone for a bed of 1" depth.

LIVE ROCK :
Starting with 5 kg of Fiji Live rock, sourced locally from a well known auction site from a Tank downsize.

LIGHTING
Starting with just 1 x 18w T8 as this is all I had and was starting on a budget (Baby on the way), this is to be upgraded to 2x24w T5 these next coming weeks

WATER :