The Other Side Of The Spectrum

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

onidrase

Let's Be Friends
Reaction score
I've noticed a lot that in the hobby, LFS and petstore employees are often kicked in the teeth for the advice they give and the like. I've been working at petsmart for about 3 months now, and I have to say that usually the customers aren't exactly saints either, as most of you who have worked a dead end retail job have probably guessed.

When I first started out here, I held strong to the knowledge I gained from this website, from things like fish in and fishless cycling to really simple things like the minimum schooling sizes being six and such. Ultimately, in 98% of cases I either ended up with disappointed customers walking out of the store or people yelling at me "I DON'T CARE. GIVE IT TO ME ANYWAY." or "I'VE BEEN DOING THIS BEFORE YOU WERE BORN, DON'T TELL ME IT WON'T WORK"

Ultimately, my boss pulled me aside and told me the sad truth of retail: If they don't like what you say and you don't want to sell them it, they'll go find someone else to tell them what they want to hear who will sell it with a smile on their face. While I'm happy, ready, and willing to talk to and teach people who are willing to learn, most people just want to buy the smallest tank possible and jam pack it with as many different species as possible without the fish dying, regardless of whether or not the fish are happy.