Tank confusion, anybody got answers?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Floridapierce78

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello, I am new to the hobby and new to Fish Forums, I'm so happy I found this media platform. My wife and I have spent endless hours googling and researching questions and trying to decipher between the good info and the bad info. After killing 11 fish in 48 hrs. Then another 6 in the next 2 weeks. I found out about the Nitrogen cycle. At this point I had 2 Fancy's and a feeder fish still swimming and all I had was a 5 gallon bucket. Water changes everyday freaking out trying to save these guys. Made a ton of Mistakes including a 100% water changes and the cleaning of the entire setup. Yea, good times. Thank you Fish Forums. I wish this was the first place I went for info. Well, after the last 6 weeks if you have read any of my previous post. You know I went crazy with filtration. And got allot of tanks including my 125 for the Oscars which I originally had bought for a 36gal Bowfront. Lmao. It's been a long stressful and expensive 7 months. But I have not lost a fish since the Fanys. And Ragnar, my Oscar, I have had since Feb. He never got sick i just kept changing water and bought a 60 gal tall and when there was no ammonia input him in. Then was like , he needs a buddy. Went got another Oscar and a pleco. Of course I have learned to do research before I buy a fish because it was a frantic to find a purchase a 125gal setup on a $500 budget with proper filtration. They really do grow quickly.

Last edited: