Talk To Me Like Im A 5 Year Old ... :)

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

MasterHu

Reaction score
Hey Forum,

Firstly id like to introduce myself my name is Jonny, and I'm completely new to the world of fish ... i have always went for exotic animals, currently sporting two Tarantulas and a Ball Python, anyways enough about that, id secondly like to apologize about the wall of text about to hit you all, but i would greatly appreciate any amount of help no matter how small or big it is:

Ok so the other day, my friend was telling me he has a Hex Fish tank, he is going to throw away as he has no space, and or need for it, i asked him about it and found out he had pebbles, for the bottom and plastic ornaments to go with it, and working filter, so i said id take it as a fish tank would look nice in the living room, and I've always found them so soothing to look at especially when i read on a night, it would be nice to have it humming away in the background. However, he was unable to remember the exact size of it, having looked into it i believe it to be a 60L/15Ga Hex fish tank .. so its a fair size.

OK basically as the title says i need to be spoken to like a 5 year old, as in my mind i had set having spoken to some people today, i would like to have beautiful colored fish swimming around, swishing and swooshing showing off there beautiful colors and fascinating anyone who sees them.

SO:

What type of tank should i make this? Freshwater / tropical? .. if so help me with what i need..

secondly i know all about the cycle, tank is empty atm hoping to gather information and fill it up to get the cycle going..

what fish is nice starter fish, and are durable to the cycle?... also i would like to have 1 medium fish which would be the "main attraction" and other small fish darting around.

DO i need a pump and a filter? or just a filter?... should i keep the pebbles or replace with sand? ... and do i need live plants?