Stocking Suggestions 125Ltr

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

dougie

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi All,
As title says, I've been given a tidy 125 litre Juwel, full set up, with just a single bristlenose living in it.
Any suggestions on stocking, obviously looking at dwarf cichlids, but open to any ideas :)
Cheers.

How about kribs? Rams if you don't want to deal with breeding aggression. A colomy of convicts could be fun. There are others I can't think of....

Love your profile pic by the way :)

Hi TallTree,

Thanks for the suggestions, I've done cribs, and convicts. I'll have a look at rams, how many could I have in there?

Glad you like the pic :)

I'm not great with cichlids but I would hazard a guess that 2 pairs would be the maximum amount. Is it a long or a tall 125 liter?

I'm no expert on Rams but as I wouldn't put more than one Krib pair in that sized tank I'd be reluctant to do the same with Rams.

Rams are about half the size of kribs so *theoretically* they only take up half the territory space so *theoretically* 4 rams would take up the same space as 2 kribs. :p

I'd still be reluctant!
smile.png

It's hit and miss with cichlids mostly tbh. Sometimes you'll get a super nasty one and other times you'll get really relaxed ones. :)

125 liters is a great sized tank for dwarf cichlids or even medium sized like Rainbows or Blue Acaras

First we can explore the idea of Rams if you like them though :)

Firstly you need to split them into the two appropriate groups - Bolivian Rams and Blue Rams (Blue Rams include all the colour morphs available)

If you go for Bolivians a group of 4 will work great they are slightly gregarious cichlids and will appreciate the company with these I would keep things like Cories, Pencil fish or Tetras and you could even go for a trio of spotted headstanders - a small LDA10 red lizard whiptail would work nice as well.