Stocking/plant ideas for 10g

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

juliejanu

Reaction score
Hello! I currently have a male betta in a 4g tank, but I'm planning on upgrading to a 40L tank (about 10,5g) in a couple months and could use some stocking and plant ideas.

I thought about maybe pygmy cory and some kind of shrimp, but I'm new to the aquarium hobby so I could use some help! Also wanted some easy low tech plants.

The only thing is that my betta is a dragonscale and has diamond eye so he can't see that well, I don't know if that would be a problem with having tank mates. What do you guys think?

A male Betta should be on his own in the tank. It is not a community fish. This is a two-way street...some bettas become aggressive at fish in "their" space (and to the Betta the entire tank is his territory), but sometimes other otherwise peaceful fish find the Betta's fins too tempting. Admittedly this is not going to be the case with pygmy cories that have no teeth, but being a highly social fish that does like to swim/chum around with non-cory upper fish, it could still lead to trouble.

A male Betta should be on his own in the tank. It is not a community fish. This is a two-way street...some bettas become aggressive at fish in "their" space (and to the Betta the entire tank is his territory), but sometimes other otherwise peaceful fish find the Betta's fins too tempting. Admittedly this is not going to be the case with pygmy cories that have no teeth, but being a highly social fish that does like to swim/chum around with non-cory upper fish, it could still lead to trouble.
Oh ok! Would that also be the case with snails or shrimps? I wanted some algae eaters, but don't want to take any risks.

Oh ok! Would that also be the case with snails or shrimps? I wanted some algae eaters, but don't want to take any risks.